Did You Know? Playing off the Wrong Greens
- Dan Lister
As we are likely to be using temporary greens, summer greens and even a mix of both and members need to be aware of the rule that applies when a ball is on a “green that is not in use”. This could be a temporary or even summer green.
If your ball comes to rest on a green that is not in use you must take full relief from that green at the nearest point and no closer to the hole in play. You cannot use a putter to play off a wrong green and you cannot use a winter mat to play off a wrong green. The penalty for doing so is 2 strokes.
If your ball does come to rest on a frozen summer green then please do your best to avoid walking on the surface and choose the shortest walking path across the green to retrieve your ball.